How long do you need an SR-22 in Texas?

In Texas, individuals are required to have an SR-22 for a period of 2 years. This means that they must uphold the minimum car insurance coverage mandated by Texas law consistently for the same duration. Failure to maintain an SR-22 for the full 2-year period can lead to the imposition of extra penalties and reinstatement fees.