SR22 Insurance - Blog Posts

Virginia DWI Penalties

Virginia has established penalties for driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI) based on factors such as the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at the time of arrest and the number of prior offenses. The following provides an overview of the penalties for DWI/DUI in Virginia: 1. First-time DWI/DUI: – Jail: Minimum…

Read More

Virginia Driver License Points

In Virginia, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) uses a point system to monitor and penalize drivers for traffic violations. Here’s an overview of the Virginia driver license point system. How You Accumulate Points:: In Virginia, both positive and negative points are given. Good driving behavior can earn you positive points, while traffic violations result…

Read More

Virginia Repeat Offense DUI DWI

Virginia Repeat Offense Drunk Driving Penalties: Second DUI (within 10 years): – Fine: Up to $2,500 – Jail Time: Up to 1 year – License Revocation: 3 years – Ignition Interlock Device (IID): Required

Read More

Virginia Interlock Device

There are certain circumstances in which an IID may be required. Here’s some information about interlock devices in Virginia: 1. Discretionary IID Requirement: In Virginia, a judge has the discretion to order the installation of an ignition interlock device as a condition of driving privileges for DUI offenders. This means that IIDs can be required…

Read More

Virginia DUI/DWI Law

Virginia has specific laws in place to address drunk driving. Here is an overview of drunk driving laws in Virginia: Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits: – For drivers aged 21 and over: BAC limit of 0.08% or higher. – For drivers under the age of 21: Zero tolerance policy with a BAC limit of 0.02%…

Read More

Virginia SR22 Insurance Coverage Limits

Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: Minimum coverage per person: $30,000 Minimum coverage per accident: $60,000 Property Damage Liability Coverage: Minimum coverage per accident: $20,000 Duration Requirements: For a first-time offense (DUI, driving without insurance, etc.): Continuous coverage for at least three years from the date of license reinstatement.

Read More