SR22 Insurance - Blog Posts

Illinois DWI Penalties

Illinois has a comprehensive set of laws and penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol, drugs, or other intoxicating compounds. The penalties for DUI convictions in Illinois vary based on factors such as the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of the arrest, the number of prior DUI convictions, and other…

Read More

Illinois Driver License Points

In Illinois, the Secretary of State’s Office utilizes a point system to keep track of drivers’ behavior and impose penalties for those who accumulate too many points as a result of traffic offenses. Here’s an overview of the Illinois driver license point system: How You Accumulate Points:: Different traffic offenses are associated with different point…

Read More

Illinois Repeat Offense DUI DWI

Illinois Repeat Offense Drunk Driving Penalties: – Second Offense DUI: – Fines: Up to $2,500 – License Suspension: 1-year minimum – Ignition Interlock Device (IID): Required – Potential Jail Time: Up to 1 year

Read More

Illinois Interlock Device

In Illinois, ignition interlock devices (IIDs) are required for certain DUI offenders. Here’s some information about interlock devices in Illinois: 1. Mandatory IID Requirement: Illinois law mandates the use of ignition interlock devices for individuals who have been convicted of certain DUI offenses, including repeat offenders, individuals who caused a DUI-related accident with injuries, or…

Read More

Illinois DUI/DWI Law

“Driving Under the Influence” is defined as operating a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol, other drugs, including cannabis (marijuana) prescribed for medical purposes, or intoxicating compounds and methamphetamine. In Illinois, you are legally considered to be under the influence if you: (1) have a blood-alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or more; (2) have a…

Read More

Illinois SR22 Insurance Coverage Limits

Bodily Injury Liability Coverage:

Minimum coverage per person: $25,000
Minimum coverage per accident: $50,000
Property Damage Liability Coverage:

Minimum coverage per accident: $20,000
Uninsured Motorist Coverage:

Minimum coverage per person: $25,000
Minimum coverage per accident: $50,000
Underinsured Motorist Coverage:

Minimum coverage per person: $25,000
Minimum coverage per accident: $50,000
Duration Requirements:

For a first-time offense (DUI, driving without insurance, etc.): Continuous coverage for at least three years from the date of license reinstatement.
For subsequent offenses: Continuous coverage for at least five years from the date of license reinstatement.

Read More