SR22 Insurance Florida

Florida Driver License Points

In Florida, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) uses a point system to monitor and assess penalties to drivers who commit traffic offenses.

Here’s a breakdown of the Florida driver license point system:

How You Accumulate Points::

Various traffic offenses are assigned specific point values:

– Speeding (15 mph or less over the limit): 3 points
– Speeding (more than 15 mph over the limit): 4 points
– Speeding resulting in an accident: 6 points
– Leaving the scene of an accident with property damage greater than $50: 6 points
– Unlawful speed resulting in an accident: 6 points
– Reckless driving: 4 points
– Moving violation (e.g., running a red light): 3 points
– Moving violation resulting in an accident: 4 points
– Failing to stop for a school bus: 4 points
– Improper lane change: 3 points
– Violation of a traffic control sign/device: 4 points
– Open container as an operator: 3 points
– Child restraint violation: 3 points

There are other violations and corresponding point values as well; this list highlights some of the common ones.

Consequences for Points Accumulation:

Accumulating too many points in a specific time frame can result in a suspension of your driving privileges:

– 12 points within 12 months: 30-day suspension
– 18 points within 18 months: 3-month suspension
– 24 points within 36 months (3 years): 12-month suspension

How to Remove or Reduce Points:

1. Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) Course: In Florida, if you get a ticket for a moving violation, you may have the option to attend a BDI course approved by the Florida DHSMV. By completing the course, points will not be added to your driving record. However, this option is usually available only once every 12 months and a total of 5 times in a lifetime.
2. Time: Points on your driving record in Florida will remain for 3 years from the date of conviction.

Other Considerations:

– Your insurance premiums can increase with the accumulation of points.
– You will typically be informed by the DHSMV if your license is at risk of suspension due to points accumulation.

Always consult the Florida DHSMV or the appropriate local agency for the most recent information, or if you have specific questions about your driving record.