SR22 Insurance Texas

Texas DWI Penalties

Texas takes driving while intoxicated (DWI) offenses seriously.

Here’s an overview of the penalties for DWI in Texas:

1. First-time DWI:
Jail: 3 days to 180 days.
Fines: Up to $2,000.
License Suspension: 90 days to 1 year.
Other: A fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for three years to retain driver’s license. This can vary depending on the BAC level at the time of the arrest.

2. Second DWI:
Jail: 30 days to 1 year.
Fines: Up to $4,000.
License Suspension: 180 days to 2 years.
Other: A fee of $1,500 or $2,000 for three years to retain driver’s license.

3. Third DWI:
Jail: 2 to 10 years.
Fines: Up to $10,000.
License Suspension: 180 days to 2 years.
Other: A fee of $1,500, $2,500, or $2,000 every year for three years to retain driver’s license.

4. DWI with a Child Passenger:
Jail: Up to 2 years.
Fines: Up to $10,000.
License Suspension: 180 days.
Other: If someone is arrested for DWI and has a passenger under the age of 15 in the car, they can be charged with child endangerment.

5. Intoxication Assault (when someone is seriously injured as a result of the DWI):
Jail: 2 to 10 years.
Fines: Up to $10,000.

6. Intoxication Manslaughter (when someone dies as a result of the DWI):
Jail: 2 to 20 years.
Fines: Up to $10,000.

7. Other Considerations:
– Texas has an implied consent law. If you refuse a blood or breath test, your license can be suspended for 180 days.
– Some offenders might be eligible for an occupational license during the suspension period, but this often requires the installation of an ignition interlock device.
– DWI education or intervention program might be required for offenders, especially for those wishing to reinstate their driving privileges.
– After any arrest and subsequent conviction, insurance rates are likely to increase.

Please keep in mind that while the aforementioned details provide a general outline, penalties might vary based on the specifics of each case, enhancements, and other factors. Texas laws and penalties can also change. Always consult with an attorney familiar with Texas DWI law for accurate and up-to-date advice regarding any DWI charges.