SR22 Insurance New Mexico

New Mexico DWI Penalties

New Mexico has established penalties for driving while intoxicated (DWI) that vary based on factors such as the number of prior DWI convictions and the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at the time of arrest. New Mexico is serious about combating DWI, and the state has enacted numerous measures to deter and punish drunk driving.

Here’s an overview of the penalties for DWI in New Mexico:

1. First-time DWI:
Jail: Up to 90 days.
Fines: Up to $500.
Community Service: Up to 24 hours.
License Revocation: 1 year.
Ignition Interlock: Mandatory installation for 1 year.
DWI School: Mandatory attendance and completion.
Alcohol Evaluation: Required.

2. Second DWI:
Jail: 96 hours to 364 days.
Fines: Up to $1,000.
Community Service: 48 hours.
License Revocation: 2 years.
Ignition Interlock: Mandatory installation for 2 years.
Treatment: Alcohol or drug abuse treatment program may be required.

3. Third DWI:
Jail: 30 days to 364 days.
Fines: Up to $1,000.
Community Service: 96 hours.
License Revocation: 3 years.
Ignition Interlock: Mandatory installation for 3 years.
Treatment: Alcohol or drug abuse treatment program may be required.

4. Fourth DWI:
Jail: 6 months to 18 months (considered a fourth-degree felony).
Fines: Up to $5,000.
License Revocation: Lifetime with a 5-year review.
Ignition Interlock: Lifetime with a 5-year review.

5. Fifth DWI:
Jail: 1 year (considered a fourth-degree felony).
Fines: Up to $5,000.
License Revocation: Lifetime with a 5-year review.
Ignition Interlock: Lifetime with a 5-year review.

6. Sixth DWI:
Jail: 18 months (considered a third-degree felony).
Fines: Up to $5,000.
License Revocation: Lifetime with a 5-year review.
Ignition Interlock: Lifetime with a 5-year review.

7. Seventh or Subsequent DWI:
Jail: 2 years (considered a third-degree felony).
Fines: Up to $5,000.
License Revocation: Lifetime with a 5-year review.
Ignition Interlock: Lifetime with a 5-year review.

8. Other Considerations:
– The legal BAC limit in New Mexico is 0.08% for most drivers, 0.04% for commercial drivers, and 0.02% for drivers under the age of 21.
– Higher BAC levels at the time of arrest can result in enhanced penalties.
– Additional penalties can be levied if a DWI incident causes bodily injury or death or if a child is present in the vehicle at the time of the offense.

Please note that these are general guidelines, and specific penalties can vary based on the individual circumstances of each case. Moreover, laws and penalties can change over time. It’s always recommended to consult with an attorney familiar with New Mexico DWI law for the most up-to-date information regarding DWI penalties.