SR22 Insurance Colorado

Colorado DWI Penalties

Colorado has its own laws and penalties regarding driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while ability is impaired (DWAI). Penalties for these offenses depend on the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of arrest, prior convictions, and other specific circumstances surrounding the offense.

Here’s a general overview of the penalties for DUI and DWAI offenses in Colorado:

1. Driving While Ability is Impaired (DWAI): Generally refers to driving with a BAC between 0.05% and 0.08%.
First-time DWAI:
– Jail: Between 2 days and 180 days.
– Fines: Between $200 and $500.
– Points on License: 8 points.
– Public Service: Between 24 and 48 hours.

2. Driving Under the Influence (DUI): Generally refers to driving with a BAC of 0.08% or above.
First-time DUI:
– Jail: Between 5 days and 1 year.
– Fines: Between $600 and $1,000.
– License Suspension: 9 months.
– Public Service: Between 48 and 96 hours.
– Education: DUI classes and therapy may be required.

3. Second DUI/DWAI (within a lifetime):
– Jail: Between 10 days and 1 year for DUI; between 2 days and 1 year for DWAI.
– Fines: Between $600 and $1,500 for DUI; between $200 and $1,500 for DWAI.
– License Suspension: 1 year for DUI.
– Public Service: Between 48 and 120 hours.
– Education: DUI classes and therapy may be required.
– Ignition Interlock Device (IID): Mandatory for a minimum of 2 years.

4. Third or Subsequent DUI/DWAI (within a lifetime):
– Jail: Between 60 days and 1 year.
– Fines: Between $600 and $1,500.
– License Suspension: 2 years.
– Public Service: Between 48 and 120 hours.
– Education: DUI classes and therapy may be required.
– IID: Mandatory for a minimum of 2 years.

5. DUI with Excessive BAC (0.15% or above):
– Even if it’s a first offense, those arrested with a BAC of 0.15% or higher are considered persistent drunk drivers and can face stricter penalties, mandatory education, and therapy, as well as a longer period with an IID.

6. Other Considerations:
– Refusal to take a chemical test can lead to a 1-year license revocation for the first refusal, 2 years for the second refusal, and 3 years for the third refusal.
– DUI or DWAI causing injury or death will result in more severe penalties.
– Other circumstances, like DUI with a minor in the car, can also enhance penalties.

The penalties provided here are general guidelines. Specific penalties can vary based on the details of each case and how the law is interpreted in a particular jurisdiction. Moreover, laws can change. If you or someone you know is facing DUI or DWAI charges in Colorado, always consult with an attorney familiar with Colorado DUI law for the most up-to-date and pertinent advice.