DWI DUI Penalties

DWI Penalties

wdt_ID State Name Min. Jail Fines & Fees Administrative LicenseSuspension/Revocation (1st/2nd/3rd Offense) Mandatory Alcohol Education and Treatment/Assessment Is Vehicle Confiscation Possible? Ignition Interlock Device Required
1 Alabama None $600 to $2,100 90d/ 1y/ 3ys Both No No
2 Alaska Min. 72 hours $1500 90d/ 1y/ 3ys Both Yes Yes
3 Arizona Min. 24 hours $250 base fine 90d/ 360d/ 360d Both Yes Yes
4 Arkansas 24 hours to 1 year $150 to $1,000 120d/ 24m/ 30m Both Yes Yes
5 California 4 days to 6 months $1,400 to $2,600 6m/ 2y/ 3y Both (Education if under 21) Yes Yes
6 Colorado Up to 1 year (DUI), or up to 180 days (DWAI) Up to $1,000 (DUI), or up to $500 (DWAI) 9m/ 1y/ 2y Both No Yes
7 Connecticut 2 days up to 6 months $500 to $1,000 1y/ 3y/ permanent Both No 2nd offense
8 Delaware Max. 6 months $500 to $1,1500 12-24m/ 24-30/ 24-36m Both Yes Yes
9 District of Colombia Max 90 days $300 to $1,100 6m/ 2y/ 3ys No No Yes
10 Florida 6 to 9 months $500 to $2,000 180 days/ 5y/ 10ys Both Yes Yes
11 Georgia 24 hours to 1 year $300 to $1,000 1y/ 3y/ 5y Both Yes 2nd offense
12 Hawaii None $150 to $1,000 3m/ 1y/ 1-5y Both No Yes
13 Idaho Up to 6 months Up to $1,000 90d/ 1y/ 1-5y No No Yes
14 Illinois Up to 1 year Up to $2,500 1y/ 5y/ up to 10y Possible Yes 2nd offense
15 Indiana 60 days to 1 year $500 to $5,000 2 y/ 180d-2y/ 180d No Yes Yes
16 Iowa 48 hours up to 1 year $625 to $1,200 180d/ 2y/ 6y Education 2nd offense Yes
17 Kansas 48 hours min. $750 to $1,000 30d/ 1y/ 1y Either (not both) No 2nd offense
18 Kentucky None $600 to $2,100 90d/ 1y/ 3ys Both Yes Yes
19 Louisiana 2 days to 6 months $1,000 90d/ 1y/ 2y Treatment/Assessment 3rd offense 2nd offense
20 Maine 30 days $500 90d/ 3y/ 6ys Both Yes Yes
21 Maryland Up to 1 year (DUI); up to 2 months (DWI) Up to $1,000 (DUI); up to $500 (DWI) 6m/ 1 y/ 18m Yes No Yes
22 Massachusetts Up to 30 months $500 to $5,000 90d/ 3y/ 6y Both Yes Yes
23 Michigan Up to 93 days From $100 to $500 6m/ 1y/ 1y Both 2nd offense 2nd offense
24 Minnesota Up to 90 days $1000 90d/ 180d/ 1y Treatment/Assessment – 3rd offense 3rd offense Yes
25 Mississippi Up to 48 hours $250 to $1,000 90d/ 2y/ 5y Both 3rd offense Yes
State Name Min. Jail Fines & Fees Administrative LicenseSuspension/Revocation (1st/2nd/3rd Offense) Mandatory Alcohol Education and Treatment/Assessment Is Vehicle Confiscation Possible? Ignition Interlock Device Required

© 2022 Sr22 Coverage 2022

Arizona DWI Penalties

August 14, 2023 | Comments Off on Arizona DWI Penalties
SR22 Insurance Arizona

Penalties for DUI convictions in Arizona Penalties for DUI convictions in Arizona vary based on several factors, including the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) level at the time of the arrest, whether the driver has prior DUI convictions, and whether any aggravating factors are present. Here’s a general breakdown: 1.…

Read More

California DWI Penalties

August 14, 2023 | Comments Off on California DWI Penalties
SR22 California Insurance

California has its own set of laws and penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs. These penalties can vary based on factors such as the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) level at the time of arrest, the number of prior DUI convictions, and other specific circumstances…

Read More

Colorado DWI Penalties

August 14, 2023 | Comments Off on Colorado DWI Penalties
SR22 Insurance Colorado

Colorado has its own laws and penalties regarding driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while ability is impaired (DWAI). Penalties for these offenses depend on the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of arrest, prior convictions, and other specific circumstances surrounding the offense. Here’s a general overview…

Read More

Florida DWI Penalties

August 14, 2023 | Comments Off on Florida DWI Penalties
SR22 Insurance Florida

Florida DWI Penalties explained. Florida has strict laws and penalties in place for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or any controlled substance. In Florida, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood-alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher for all drivers. For drivers under the…

Read More

Illinois DWI Penalties

August 14, 2023 | Comments Off on Illinois DWI Penalties
SR 22 Insurance Illinois

Illinois has a comprehensive set of laws and penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol, drugs, or other intoxicating compounds. The penalties for DUI convictions in Illinois vary based on factors such as the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of the arrest, the number of…

Read More

Missouri DWI Penalties

August 14, 2023 | Comments Off on Missouri DWI Penalties
SR22 Insurance Missouri

Missouri treats driving while intoxicated (DWI) as a serious offense and has established penalties that escalate with each subsequent DWI conviction. The penalties for DWI convictions in Missouri are determined by factors such as the number of prior DWI convictions, the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of…

Read More

Nevada DWI Penalties

August 14, 2023 | Comments Off on Nevada DWI Penalties
SR22 Insurance Nevada

Nevada has stringent laws and penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol, drugs, or other controlled substances. The severity of penalties for a DUI conviction in Nevada depends on factors such as the number of prior DUI convictions within a certain timeframe and the specific circumstances of the…

Read More

New Mexico DWI Penalties

August 14, 2023 | Comments Off on New Mexico DWI Penalties
SR22 Insurance New Mexico

New Mexico has established penalties for driving while intoxicated (DWI) that vary based on factors such as the number of prior DWI convictions and the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at the time of arrest. New Mexico is serious about combating DWI, and the state has enacted numerous measures to…

Read More

Texas DWI Penalties

August 14, 2023 | Comments Off on Texas DWI Penalties
SR22 Insurance Texas

Texas takes driving while intoxicated (DWI) offenses seriously. Here’s an overview of the penalties for DWI in Texas: 1. First-time DWI: – Jail: 3 days to 180 days. – Fines: Up to $2,000. – License Suspension: 90 days to 1 year. – Other: A fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for…

Read More

Virginia DWI Penalties

August 14, 2023 | Comments Off on Virginia DWI Penalties
SR22 Insurance Virginia

Virginia has established penalties for driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI) based on factors such as the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at the time of arrest and the number of prior offenses. The following provides an overview of the penalties for DWI/DUI in Virginia: 1.…

Read More